DELAWARE ENVIROTHON 2022 ANNUAL REPORT

27 Years of Outstanding Environmental Education



Charter School of Wilmington Team A Wins Event







The St. Jones Estuarine Research Reserve in Dover was the setting for the 2022 competition which marked the school's 20th win in the event's 27-year history. Peach Blossom 4-H Club

came in second place and the Odessa High School FFA team placed third. The event is a program of the Delaware Association of Conservation Districts and supported by many sponsors.



Peach Blossom 4-H Club

"In total, ten teams of Delaware students were challenged to apply their environmental knowledge to plan and present inventive solutions to present-day environmental situations - and I would like to congratulate all of them for stepping up to the challenge," said DNREC Secretary Shawn M. Garvin. "These students are today's young environmental stewards,

and I look forward to seeing them taking leadership roles to help ensure the future."

The ten competing Envirothon teams represented six high schools (including three FFA programs) and one 4-H club statewide - Calvary Christian Academy, Charter School of Wilmington, Newark Charter School, Odessa High School , Smyrna High School, Sussex Tech High School and Peach Blossom 4-H Club.

Each member of the winning team received a \$500 scholarship for college and the team received an award plaque for their school.



Odessa High School FFA

The second through seventh place teams received cash awards totaling more than \$1,300.

Since its inception the Envirothon has awarded \$62,500 in college scholarships.

The Charter School of Wilmington Team A represented Delaware in the International NCF Envirothon held at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio the last week of July. The team placed 14th out of 40 teams from the United States, Canada, and China. Congratulations!

Page 2 DELAWARE ENVIROTHON

Delaware Envirothon Teams - New Castle County



L to R: Claire Andreasen, Tiffany Situ, Mukta Kantank, Meghna Raj Annasagaram, and Erica Hong. Charter School of Wilmington Team A



L to R: Michaela Somers, Siddhi Dinavahi, Joanna Tan, Amogh Baradwaj, and Pragya Singh. Charter School of Wilmington Team B



L to R: Mikul Duggal, Khai McCaskill, Arjan Kahlon, Dharshini Senthilnathan, and Rakshetha Balaji of Charter School of Wilmington Team C



L to R: Jared Murray, Samita Bomasamudram, Anna Gliwa, Amber Gray, and Benjamin Schultz of Newark Charter High School CliMates



Far left photo, L to R: Brady Doyle, Bianca Soutar, Adam Narvaez, Matthew Parsons, and Grace Ferry of Newark Charter High School Green Goddesses

Thank you to our Team Advisors

Greg Darone and Xuan Bui Charter School of Wilmington

Erica Miller Newark Charter High School

> Jeff Billings Odessa High School

Jennifer Holmes and Debbie Bosco Calvary Christian Academy

Elaine Webb and Leslie Webb Peach Blossom 4-H

> Jennifer Taylor Smyrna High School

G. L. Jefferson Sussex Tech High School

Alexis Clay Middletown High School (unable to participate after registering an FFA team)



Near left photo, L to R: Ella Vandervort, Nathalie Holdren, Bruce Macolley, Taylor Mahoney, and Kaelin Desrosiers of Odessa FFA



2022 ANNUAL REPORT Page 3

Delaware Envirothon Teams - Kent and Sussex Counties



L to R: Elijah Washington, Dawson Shahan, Michelle Thomas, Kayleigh Young, and John Thomas of Calvary Christian Academy Tree Champs



L to R: Joshua Allen, Michael Slawik, Geneva Catts, Colin McBride, and Rayne Thompson of Smyrna FFA





L to R: Bethany Knutsen, Leighton Webb, Aidan Garey, Brielle Carter, and Brenna Geidel of Peach Blossom 4-H Club



L to R: Morgan Lowe, Nolan Hilton, Annabella Freeman-Hill, Jeremy Vest, Brock O'Day and Advisor G.L. Jefferson of Sussex Tech FFA

Past to Present: Going Full Circle by Rick Mickowski



Dean C. Belt

It was an honor and pleasure to see Dean C. Belt at our 2022 Delaware Envirothon. Dean served as the founder and first Chair of the Envirothon program beginning in the early 1990's. I have had the honor of serving on the Envirothon Planning Committee since before the first event was held, so going back almost 30 years. One of my first experiences was scouting out the National

Envirothon in Asheville, NC in 1994. Thanks to all who serve on our planning committee to keep the Delaware Envirothon thriving.



Rick Mickowski

Delaware Envirothon

The Delaware Envirothon is a program of DACD **Delaware Association of Conservation Districts** Jen Nelson - Executive Director

Rick Mickowski, Chair of Envirothon Planning Committee Michelle Jacobs, Vice-Chair and Air Quality Co-Chair Sarah Culler, Secretary Gayle Wills, Treasurer Kerin Hume, Administrative and NCF Envirothon Rep. Tim Garrahan, Soils Chair Ashley Melvin, Forestry Chair Lynne Pusey, Wildlife Chair Ken Smith, Aquatic Ecology Chair Jayme Arthurs, Current Issue Co-Chair Sharon Webb, Current Issue Co-Chair Alisa Bentley, Volunteer Coordinator

Adam Schlachter, Current Issue Chelsea Hudson, Sussex Conservation District Dastina Wallace, USDA NRCS Public Affairs and Outreach

2022 Financial Report (January—December)

Dawn Minor, Air Quality Co-Chair

Laurel Sullivan, Aquatic Ecology

Income \$14,279.76 **Expenditures** \$25,391.36











Thank You to Our Sponsors

DIAMOND SPONSORS

Delaware Solid Waste Authority USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

PLATINUM SPONSORS

Delaware Dept. of Agriculture—Pesticide Compliance **FMC** Corporation Frederick T. Mott Memorial Contributions KCD (Mid-Del Charitable Foundation Grant) New Castle Conservation District

GOLD SPONSORS

Delaware Electric Cooperative Delaware Farm Bureau **DNREC** Division of Air Quality DNREC Division of Climate, Coastal, and Energy **DNREC** Division of Water **DNREC** Division of Watershed Stewardship Tidewater Utilities, Inc.

SILVER SPONSORS

Action Environmental Service Corporation All About the Swing Barbara and Bob Reed (in memory of Fred and Gene Mott) Dean C. Belt Edwin and Brenda Alexander (in memory of Irvan and

Marie Alexander; in honor of Isaac Thomas) First State RC&D Council, Inc. Jake and Janice Vukich Josef and Brunhilde Burger

KCI Technologies Kent County Levy Court

Les and Christine Stillson (in memory of Elesa Cottrell and Fred Mott)

> Marcia Fox Marianne and Myron Hardesty New Castle County Farm Bureau Samuel Richard Smith, III Shadybrook Farms Shirley and Preston Bowden

The Wildlife Society—MD/DE Chapter

IN-KIND SPONSORS

Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control - Delaware Forest Service Blackbird State Forest Education Center - Delaware National Estuarine Research Reserve - St. Jones DelDOT NPDES Program

